Accessibility

Ford’s Theatre strives to make art and history accessible to people with disabilities by removing barriers and providing opportunities.

Ford’s Theatre offers an elevator from the lower-level museum to the lobby and balcony levels. The new Center for Education and Leadership also has an elevator to exhibit levels and to the back porch of the Petersen House.

Accessible seating is offered in both the rear orchestra and the balcony sections of the theatre. Accessible seating can be purchased through Ticketmaster online or via phone at (800) 982-2787 or in person at our Box Office.

Ford's Theatre offers audio-described, captioned and sign-interpreted performances. Dates are listed below. Seats for an audio-described, captioned or sign-interpreted performance can be purchased through Ticketmaster online or via phone at (800) 982-2787 or in person at our Box Office.

Ford’s Theatre also offers sign-language interpretation upon request for one-night only events that are not part of the regular theatre season (such as The Lincoln Legacy Monday night events). Requests for sign-language interpreters must be received at least two weeks prior to the event. To make a request, please email us. These requests are subject to the availability of an interpreter and are provided at the discretion of the management.

The Laramie Project
Sign-Interpreted: Thursday, October 17, 2013, at 7:30 p.m.

Captioned: Saturday, October 26, 2013, at 2 p.m.

Audio-Described: Saturday, October 19, 2013, at 2 p.m.; Tuesday, October 22, 2013, at 7:30 p.m.

The Lincoln Legacy Project
With Malice Toward None: Judy Shepard, A Mother's Response to Hate
Sign-Interpreted: Monday, September 30, 2013, at 7 p.m.

 

A Christmas Carol
Sign-Interpreted: Thursday, December 19, 2013, at 7:30 p.m.

Captioned: Sunday, December 8, 2013, at 2 p.m.

Audio-Described: Tuesday, December 3, 2013, at 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, December 14, 2013, at 2 p.m.

Violet
Sign-Interpreted: Thursday, February 13, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.

Captioned: Saturday, February 22, 2014, at 2 p.m.

Audio-Described: Tuesday, February 4, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, February 15, 2014, at 2 p.m.

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Sign-Interpreted: Thursday, May 1, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.; Wednesday, May 7, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.

Captioned: Saturday, May 10, 2014, at 2 p.m.

Audio-Described: Tuesday, April 22, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, May 3, 2014, at 2 p.m.


History on Foot: Detective McDevitt

Sign-Interpreted: Saturday, October 5, 2013, at 10:15 a.m.


One Destiny

Sign-Interpreted: Saturday, April 26, 2014, at 10:30 a.m. (performance time 10:45 a.m.)

Audio-Described: Saturday, April 12, 2014, at 10:30 a.m. (performance time 10:45 a.m.); and Tuesday, April 29, 2014, at 11:30 a.m. (performance time 11:45 a.m.)

For information on stroller, wheelchair and mobility scooter rentals, please visit Bike the Sites.

Edward Gero Anne Stone with the cast of the 2011 Ford’s Theatre production of "A Christmas Carol." Photo by Scott Suchman.